Home Cricket Ashes 2021: No changes in Australian squad for Ashes remainder

Ashes 2021: No changes in Australian squad for Ashes remainder


Cricket Australia has confirmed that they will have the same squad for the rest of the Ashes. Australia are close to obtaining a dominant lead of 2 -0 and needs only 4 wickets at the time of writing this post. Josh Hazelwood and Pat Cummins will return to the side. Hazelwood suffered a niggle whereas Cummins was left out due to Covid scare.

Jhye Richarson and Michael Neser were brought into the team and the duo has not disappointed at all. While Richardson went wicketless in the 1st innings, he maintained pressure from one end and allowed Starc to pick up four crucial wickets. Michael Neser too bowled tight with his 33 runs in 11 overs in the first innings.

Squad: Pat Cummins (captain), Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

The selectors have found quality bench strength in the absence of Hazelwood and Cummins. Marcus Harris would be a bit concerned as the opener has scored only 38 runs in the first two tests till now. The remaining test matches will be played in Melbourne, Sydney, and Hobart. Third test will start from the 26th of December.

Cricket Australia has elevated the Covid restrictions to level 4 for NSW and Victoria where the cases recently saw a spike. Players will not be allowed to get haircuts, sign autographs, and take selfies or go to bars. They will be allowed to dine outside with their families and in case of inside dining, they would be required to undergo a Covid test upon return to the team hotel.

Previous articleInd SA 2021: Spectators unlikely for the 1st Test
Next articleCSA racial discrimination: Graeme Smith & Mark Boucher to face formal inquiry


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here