Home Cricket The reason why NZ lost is … : Waqar Younis

The reason why NZ lost is … : Waqar Younis


After being in four finals of the ICC tournament, New Zealand has lost three of them. One in the 2015 final against the Aussies, 2019 WC against England, and now the 2021 T20 WC against the Aussies again. While Kane Williamson played a heroic inning, the score wasn’t enough to make the chase difficult for the likes of David Warner and Mitch Marsh.

Conducting the post-match analysis, Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram, Misbah, and Wahab Riaz believed that Newzealand’s run rate was way too slow from 4th to 10th over of their innings. The kiwis got off to a flier by scoring 27 runs of their first three overs. However, some good bowling from the Australians restricted Williamson and Guptill to take on the bowling attack.

The former fast bowler believes that while Kane Williamson was the one who took the score to 172, it was his slow batting along with Guptill that didn’t allow the score to be around 190 or more. Waqar also praised the Australian bowling attack especially hazelwood, Cummins and Zampa who controlled the run of flow against one end and did not allow Starc’s spell to take away the game from the Aussies. Starc conceded 60 runs off his four overs whereas Kane Williamson took him apart for 26 runs in one of his over.

While the Australians lost their skipper early, they seemed never under pressure and kept on scoring briskly, even taking on Sodhi and Santner. David Warner scored 53 with a strike rate of 139.47 whereas Mitchell Marsh scored 77 with a strike rate of 154. This is the maiden T20 WC for Australia

Management didn’t discuss Wade as he hasn’t performed before : Shahid Afridi

Pak should have slowed down the momentum: Waqar Younis

I am more ‘disappointed’ than people: Hasan Ali

Waqar criticizes Langer for his “unbelievable” comment on double-ball six

Previous articleHasan Ali “committed a mistake”, would have to work double hard on fielding: Rameez Raja
Next articleNew Zealand likely to tour Pakistan in 2022


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here